← Back to User Guide

What is the difference between copying and modifying an order?

When you need to revisit an existing order in Onsight, you have two options: modify it or copy it. They might seem interchangeable, but they handle prices very differently, and using the wrong one can result in incorrect prices going out to your customers.

What modifying an order does

Modifying an order lets you make changes to an existing order, such as adjusting quantities, adding or removing products, updating the delivery address or changing the delivery date. When you save those changes, Onsight cancels the original version of the order and creates a new version in its place. The new order gets the same order number plus “.1” at the end. For example, if the original was SO000000333, the modified version becomes SO000000333.1.

The most important thing to understand is that modifying keeps the original prices. Even if your prices have changed since the order was first placed, the modified order will still use those original prices. This applies as long as you keep the same customer on the order. If you change the customer while modifying, the prices will update to reflect that new customer’s current prices.

Taxes are the one exception. If the tax status of a product or customer changes between the original order date and the date of modification, the updated tax rules take effect on the modified order.

What copying an order does

Copying an order creates a brand new order based on the products in the original. In the Onsight mobile app, this is called “reorder” rather than “copy”, but both do the same thing.

The new order gets a brand new order number, the next order number in the sequence.

Unlike modifying, copying always applies your current prices. Whatever prices you have set at the time of copying, those are the prices that will appear on the new order. So if a customer wants to repeat a past order and prices have since changed, copying will automatically use your latest pricing.

Now that you know how each option handles prices, you can decide which one is right for your situation.

Choosing between copy and modify

The decision comes down to which prices should appear on the order.

Use modify when you need the order to keep the prices that were originally agreed with the customer. You can still make changes to quantities, products and other details, but the prices will stay the same.

Use copy (or reorder in the app) when you want a new order with your current prices. This is the right choice when a customer is repeating a previous order and you want the new order to reflect your current pricing rather than the prices from the original.

Once you know which option you need, here is how to use each one.

How to copy an order

In the app

  • Log into the Onsight B2B Sales app.
  • Tap on the ‘Orders’ module
  • Tap on the order that you want to reorder
  • Tap on the 3 dots on the top right-hand side
  • Tap on ‘Reorder’
  • You can add, remove products and you can also add the content of another order or quote to your cart
  • Tap on Create Order’

In the web console

  • Log in to the Onsight web console at https://sales.onsightapp.com/.
  • Click on ‘Orders’ from the left-hand side menu.
  • The latest orders and quotes will be displayed. You can also choose a start date, end date or customer to change the list that is displayed.
  • Click the document number of the sales order that you would like to copy.
  • The order will be shown.
  • Click on the ‘Actions’ button at the top of the screen and then click ‘Copy’.
  • You can add and remove products or change the quantities of existing products
  • Click on ‘Save and Send’ at the bottom of the screen.

How to modify an order

In the app

  • Log into the Onsight B2B Sales app.
  • Tap on the ‘Orders’ module
  • Tap on the order that you want to modify.
  • The order document will open. Tap on the ‘Modify’ button in the top right.
  • Modify the order by adding products to the cart or removing products from the cart. You can also add fees, change the delivery address, the delivery date and add a signature.
  • When you are done, tap on ‘Save and Send’ in the top right.
  • A new modified order will be created.

In the web console

  • Log in to the Onsight web console at https://sales.onsightapp.com/.
  • Click on ‘Orders’ from the left-hand side menu.
  • Click on the order number of the sales order you would like to modify.
  • Click on the ‘Actions’ button at the top of the screen and then click ‘Modify’.
  • Make the relevant changes to the fields as needed.
  • You can update the quantities of existing order line items and you can add new items to the order.
  • Click on ‘Save and Send’ at the bottom of the screen.