How account ownership works

When creating a customer the ‘Allocated to’ field needs to be filled in. This field refers to the sales reps that are allocated to that specific customer. You can choose one or more reps to add to this field. This is a required field since each customer needs to belong to at least one sales rep. Sales reps who are not allocated to a customer will not be able to see that customer’s information nor will they be able to create orders for that customer. If multiple sales reps are allocated to a customer then they will all be able to see that customer, they will all be able to create orders for that customer, and they will all see the entire order history for that customer (including orders created by other reps).

By default only administrators can add new customers. If you want your sales reps to be able to add new customers you need to configure this in the admin console. Follow these steps:

  • Log in to the Onsight admin console at https://web.onsightapp.com/
  • Click on ‘Setup’ from the left-hand side menu.
  • Click on the ‘Configuration’ menu item.
  • Tick the checkbox next to “Allow sales reps to add and update customers”.
  • Click ‘Save’.

Related articles:
How do I manage customer information
How do I bulk upload my customer data